Orange County Speeding Accident Lawyer
You need an Orange County speeding accident lawyer if you have been injured in a car accident caused by a speeding driver. When a driver injures someone by speeding or driving recklessly, that person should be held accountable.
Filing a lawsuit is typically the best way to do this. First, it will be necessary to prove they were speeding, as this will be integral to a strong negligence argument demonstrating that the accident was the other driver’s fault.
In California, it is possible for each driver to bear some level of responsibility for an accident.
This impacts your final settlement directly. For example, a jury could determine that you were 20 percent at fault, and you would still receive a settlement. However, that settlement amount would then be reduced by 20 percent.
We Work to Prove That You Were Not At Fault for the Accident
The concept of shared liability is meant to make settlements more equitable and fair.
It also makes it important for you to hire an Orange County speeding accident lawyer who knows how to build a strong case demonstrating that you were either not responsible or had very little responsibility for the crash.
There will be a variety of evidence needed to support your case:
- A copy of the police report, particularly any sections regarding speeding
- Interrogatories answered by the other driver, with questions asking if he or she has ever been ticketed for speeding, when it occurred, at what speed, and so on
- Witness testimony confirming you were not speeding and were following the rules of the road
- Photographic evidence such as traffic camera pictures
- Medical testimony and records
You Should Hire an Orange County Speeding Accident Lawyer Immediately
Each state has different guidelines regarding the statute of limitations—the timeframe in which you have to file a lawsuit.
In California, the statute of limitations in personal injury cases is two years.
As long as you were hit by an individual or a business, you can sue them at any point within two years of the accident. Once the two-year mark passes, you cannot file a lawsuit as at that point your case will probably be thrown out.
While the statute of limitations is normally two years, in cases against a government entity, it is reduced to just six months.
This means that if you were hit by a speeding government employee on official business, you have a much smaller window of opportunity and should contact an Orange County speeding accident lawyer immediately.
Speak with an Orange County Speeding Accident Lawyer
At Dickson, Kohan, and Bablove, LLP, we handle all types of personal injury cases and understand how to protect our clients’ best interests.
If you have been injured in a car crash caused by a speeding driver, call an Orange County speeding accident lawyer at 1-844-404-2400 or contact our office online immediately.