Orange County Premises Liability Lawyer
Don’t let a negligent property owner get away with harming you. Contact a premises liability lawyer in Orange County.
Most of us have seen a yellow “Wet Floor” sign, “Beware of Dog” sign, or hazard cone meant to keep us away from dangerous conditions that could cause severe injuries. When you’re injured because the property owner didn’t take such precautions, you can find yourself in a bad position.
Getting back on your feet after your injuries can be tough, but an Orange County premises liability lawyer can help. Handling your case alone is likely to end in failure, but teaming up with us can be a pathway to success.
Types of Premises Liability Cases We Handle in Orange County
Premises liability means that, if you enter a commercial or residential property lawfully, the owners of that property are obligated to prevent you from being harmed whenever possible. If you’re on another person’s property, then, and he or she fails to warn you of danger or prevent you from being hurt, the owner is liable for your damages.
Premises liability is a broad term, however. It covers several situations that you may find yourself in. The following are just a few examples of common Orange County premises liability cases:
- Slip-and-fall Accidents – When someone forgets to leave a “Wet Floor” sign out or clean up a spill, the consequences could be trauma to your head and back, broken bones, and even concussions.
- Dog Bites – Dog owners are responsible for the actions of their pets. If you are in public or lawfully on private property and a dog attacks you unprovoked, you may need to take legal action for your injuries.
- Electrical Accidents – In some cases, you could suffer severe electrical injuries from faulty wiring, which can leave burns and other painful injuries. These are common in unattended construction areas, which you may not recognize without proper signage.
How California Law Can Affect Your Orange County Premises Liability Claim
When you’re preparing for a premises liability case in Orange County, it’s important to keep the laws governing your case in mind. In some cases, your claim could be devalued or dismissed if the appropriate actions are not taken.
First, be sure that you’re within the statute of limitations for your case. In California, you have two years to file your claim. If you don’t act quickly, your claim will be dismissed, and you will be unable to recover your damages.
You’ll also need to be sure that you won’t be found to hold too much fault for your accident. California observes “comparative negligence,” which means that your claim will be devalued in proportion to the amount you were negligent in your case.
For example, if you were looking at your phone when you slipped and fell, you may be found 25 percent at fault. When you are awarded compensation, then, you will only receive 75 percent of the total amount. To get your full award, you may need someone on your side to fight for your compensation.
Connect with an Orange County Premises Liability Attorney
Premises liability injuries can be serious, and when they happen to you, you need to be ready to fight for the compensation you deserve. No matter where you were injured, we’re ready to act for you if your injuries were the result of a property owner’s negligence.
If you have some questions or would like to get started, schedule an appointment with an Orange County premises liability lawyer. We offer free consultations so you know in advance what to expect from our firm. Give Dickson Kohan & Bablove, LLP a call at 1-844-404-2400 or fill out the form below.